The 2015-2016 Season
 

 Midtown Series
 Fridays at 8pm

 Signature Series
 Saturdays at 8pm
 
 Oakland Series
 Sundays at 3pm
 
---------------------------------------
 

Sat, Sept. 19, 2015
 Pinchas Zukerman, violin 
 Angela Cheng, piano

Sun, Sept. 20, 2015
 Angela Cheng, piano
 

Sat, Oct. 3, 2015
 Thomas Meglioranza, baritone
 Reiko Uchida, piano

Sun, Nov. 8, 2015
 Richard Stoltzman, clarinet
 David Deveau, piano

Sat, Nov. 14, 2015
 Montrose Trio
 Parker, Beaver & Greensmith

Fri, Dec. 11, 2015
 Juilliard String Quartet
 

Sat, Dec. 12, 2015
 Juilliard String Quartet
 Astrid Schween, cello

Sat, Jan. 16, 2016
 Shanghai Quartet
  

Sun, Jan. 17, 2016
 Shanghai Quartet
 David Small, baritone

Fri, Jan 22, 2016
 David Small, baritone
 Steve Wogaman, piano

Sat, Feb. 6, 2016
 Richard Goode, piano
 
 
Sun, Mar. 13, 2016

Fri, Mar. 18, 2016
 Quatuor Ébène
 Jazz Program
 
Sat, Mar. 19, 2016
 Quatuor Ébène
 Classical Program


Sat, Apr. 9, 2016
 Musicians from Marlboro
 

Fri, May 13, 2016
 Alon Goldstein, piano

 

Sat, May 14, 2016
 Ariel Quartet
 Alon Goldstein, piano

4 The Gryphon Trio

The Gryphon Trio

Sunday, March 13, 2016, 3PM

Varner Recital Hall at Oakland University
2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester

Celebrating its 22 years as an ensemble, the Toronto-based Gryphon Trio has impressed international audiences and the press with its highly refined, dynamic performances and has firmly established itself as one of the world’s preeminent piano trios. With a repertoire that ranges from the traditional to the contemporary and from European classicism to modern-day multimedia, the Gryphons are committed to redefining chamber music for the 21st century.

The Gryphon Trio's dynamic program explores a Slavic theme, with Haydn's "Gypsy Rondo" Trio featuring a spirited finale in Hungarian style, Dvorak's "Dumky" Trio evoking Slavic folk song, and a Trio by 20th-century Armenian composer Arno Babajanian rooted in Armenian folk traditions.

“Big, bold, almost orchestral performances”  - Los Angeles Times

“As playing per se, this is exquisite. I don’t just mean technically, though the ensemble and tonal control can be almost breathtaking. Both performances bring out the kind of delicacy and sensuous beauty that’s often overlooked in Beethoven.”  - BBC Music Magazine


Program 
Haydn: Trio in G major, Hob. XV:25, “Gypsy Rondo”
Arno Babajanian: Trio in F-sharp minor
DvorákTrio in E minor, Op. 90, “Dumky”

Watch & Listen