Midtown Series
 Fridays at 8pm

 Signature Series
 Saturdays at 8pm
 
 Oakland Series
 Sundays at 3pm
 
---------------------------------------
 

Fri, Sept. 16, 2016
 Vijay Iyer, piano
 solo jazz concert

Sat, Sept. 17, 2016
 Brentano String Quartet
 Vijay Iyer, piano

Sat, Oct. 8, 2016
 Juilliard String Quartet
 at Seligman

Sun, Oct. 9, 2016
 Juilliard String Quartet
 Tian Tian, piano

Fri, Oct. 21, 2016
 Harlem Quartet
 Aldo López-Gavilán, piano

Sun, Nov. 13, 2016
 Heidi Grant Murphy, soprano
 Kevin Murphy, piano

Sat, Nov. 19, 2016
 Alexander Ghindin, piano
 solo piano recital

Sat, Dec. 3, 2016
 Cavani Quartet
 Celino Romero, guitar

Fri, Dec. 9, 2016
 Robert Siemers, piano
 solo piano recital

Fri, Jan. 20, 2017
 Pacifica Quartet
 

Sat, Jan. 21, 2017
 Pacifica Quartet
 Christopher O'Riley, piano

Sun, Jan. 22, 2017
 Christopher O'Riley, piano
 solo piano recital

Sat, Feb. 11, 2017
 Danish String Quartet
 

Fri, Mar. 10, 2017
 Imani Winds
 "Classically Improvised"
 

Sun, Mar. 12, 2017
 Imani Winds
 "Tradition and Innovation"

 
Sun, Apr. 2, 2017
 Celino Romero & Friends
 
 

Sat, Apr. 8, 2017
 Anthony Marwood, violin
 Aleksandar Madzar, piano

Fri, May 5, 2017
 Lise de la Salle, piano
 solo piano recital

 

7 Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center

Chamber Music Society
of Lincoln Center

Wu Han, piano, Kristin Lee, Yura Lee and Arnaud Sussmann, violins, Richard O’Neill, viola, Nicholas Canellakis, cello

Saturday, March 25, 2017, 8pm

Seligman Performing Arts Center
22305 W. 13 Mile Road, Beverly Hills

The music of France has been perennially vibrant, colorful and elegant. In this program comprising works by Leclair, Françaix, Debussy and Chausson, Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center Co-Artistic Director, pianist Wu Han, heads up a cast of six superb artists, all of whom are current members or graduates of the Society’s prestigious CMS Two program.

Leclair’s Concerto for Violin, String Quartet and Continuo exemplifies the values and aspirations of the Age of Enlightenment: clarity and rationality; balance, harmony and proportion; and avoidance of excess or exaggeration.  Françaix’s String Trio which follows is infused with the composer’s signature exuberance and impeccable craftsmanship. Debussy's Violin Sonata, written during the closing days of the composer’s life, is an introspective composition that artfully balances melancholy, sweetness, humor and nostalgia. Bringing this program to a scintillating close is Chausson’s Concerto for Violin, Piano and String Quartet, a tour de force work that allows the players to synthesize instrumental brilliance with intimate ensemble playing.

Program: “French Virtuosity”

Leclair: Concerto for Violin, String Quartet and Continuo in E minor, Op. 10, No. 5
Francaix: Trio for Violin, Viola, and Cello
Ravel: Tzigane
Chausson: Concerto in D major for Violin, Piano, and String Quartet

Pre-Concert Event

6:45pm, Free to ticket-holders.
Ensemble members from the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center discuss the evening's repertoire.

Support

This concert is sponsored by

Honigman Miller Schwartz and Cohn LLP