Midtown Series
 Fridays at 8pm

 Signature Series
 Saturdays at 8pm
 
 Oakland Series
 Sundays at 3pm
 
---------------------------------------
 

Fri, Sept. 16, 2016
 Vijay Iyer, piano
 solo jazz concert

Sat, Sept. 17, 2016
 Brentano String Quartet
 Vijay Iyer, piano

Sat, Oct. 8, 2016
 Juilliard String Quartet
 at Seligman

Sun, Oct. 9, 2016
 Juilliard String Quartet
 Tian Tian, piano

Fri, Oct. 21, 2016
 Harlem Quartet
 Aldo López-Gavilán, piano

Sun, Nov. 13, 2016
 Heidi Grant Murphy, soprano
 Kevin Murphy, piano

Sat, Nov. 19, 2016
 Alexander Ghindin, piano
 solo piano recital

Sat, Dec. 3, 2016
 Cavani Quartet
 Celino Romero, guitar

Fri, Dec. 9, 2016
 Robert Siemers, piano
 solo piano recital

Fri, Jan. 20, 2017
 Pacifica Quartet
 

Sat, Jan. 21, 2017
 Pacifica Quartet
 Christopher O'Riley, piano

Sun, Jan. 22, 2017
 Christopher O'Riley, piano
 solo piano recital

Sat, Feb. 11, 2017
 Danish String Quartet
 

Fri, Mar. 10, 2017
 Imani Winds
 "Classically Improvised"
 

Sun, Mar. 12, 2017
 Imani Winds
 "Tradition and Innovation"

 
Sun, Apr. 2, 2017
 Celino Romero & Friends
 
 

Sat, Apr. 8, 2017
 Anthony Marwood, violin
 Aleksandar Madzar, piano

Fri, May 5, 2017
 Lise de la Salle, piano
 solo piano recital

 

3 Christopher O'Riley

Christopher O'Riley, piano

Sunday, January 22, 2017, 3pm

VARNER RECITAL HALL
2200 N Squirrel Rd, Rochester, Oakland University

Acclaimed for his engaging and deeply committed performances, pianist Christopher O’Riley has a repertoire that spans a kaleidoscopic array of music from the pre-baroque to present-day. Known to millions as the host of NPR’s From the Top, he performs around the world and has garnered widespread praise for his untiring efforts to reach new audiences, often performing piano arrangements of music by Radiohead, Pink Floyd and Nirvana alongside traditional Classical repertoire.  Living by the Duke Ellington adage “There are only two kinds of music, good music and bad,” O’Riley – a proponent of the former in all of its guises – has received the prestigious Avery Fisher Career Grant and an equally coveted four-star review from Rolling Stone magazine. 

Christopher O’Riley has performed as a soloist with virtually all of the major American orchestras, and has collaborated with Sir James Galway, Carter Brey, Yo-Yo Ma, Bobby McFerrin, Midori, Béla Fleck, Joshua Bell and many more. A prolific recording artist, O’Riley has recorded the music of Beethoven, Stravinsky, Scriabin, Liszt, Ravel, Gershwin, Debussy, and John Adams for Sony Classical, Oxingale Records, RCA Red Seal, Decca, and Harmonia Mundi.  

"Infectious passion"

Los Angeles Times

"Christopher O'Riley is arguably the coolest guy in the business... with unassailable credentials in the classical music world." 

The Oregonian, Portland

Program:

Brahms: Three Intermezzi, Op. 117
Bach: Partita No. 6 in E minor, BWV 830
Scriabin: Piano Sonata No. 9, "Black Mass," Op. 68
Rachmaninoff: Piano Sonata No. 2 in B-flat minor, Op. 36
  (original 1913 version)


 

 

The Pacifica & Christopher O'Riley Weekend

Pacifica Quartet

Friday, January 20, 8pm

Jorg Widmann, Shostakovich

Pacifica Quartet +
Christopher O'Riley, piano

Saturday, January 21, 8pm

Haydn, Ravel, Schumann

Christopher O'Riley, piano

Sunday, January 22, 3pm

Brahms, Bach, Scriabin, Rachmaninoff

More info: here More info: here More info: here


Weekend discount packages available: here