Midtown Series
 Fridays at 8pm

 Signature Series
 Saturdays at 8pm
 
 Oakland Series
 Sundays at 3pm
 
---------------------------------------
 

Fri, Sept. 16, 2016
 Vijay Iyer, piano
 solo jazz concert

Sat, Sept. 17, 2016
 Brentano String Quartet
 Vijay Iyer, piano

Sat, Oct. 8, 2016
 Juilliard String Quartet
 at Seligman

Sun, Oct. 9, 2016
 Juilliard String Quartet
 Tian Tian, piano

Fri, Oct. 21, 2016
 Harlem Quartet
 Aldo López-Gavilán, piano

Sun, Nov. 13, 2016
 Heidi Grant Murphy, soprano
 Kevin Murphy, piano

Sat, Nov. 19, 2016
 Alexander Ghindin, piano
 solo piano recital

Sat, Dec. 3, 2016
 Cavani Quartet
 Celino Romero, guitar

Fri, Dec. 9, 2016
 Robert Siemers, piano
 solo piano recital

Fri, Jan. 20, 2017
 Pacifica Quartet
 

Sat, Jan. 21, 2017
 Pacifica Quartet
 Christopher O'Riley, piano

Sun, Jan. 22, 2017
 Christopher O'Riley, piano
 solo piano recital

Sat, Feb. 11, 2017
 Danish String Quartet
 

Fri, Mar. 10, 2017
 Imani Winds
 "Classically Improvised"
 

Sun, Mar. 12, 2017
 Imani Winds
 "Tradition and Innovation"

 
Sun, Apr. 2, 2017
 Celino Romero & Friends
 
 

Sat, Apr. 8, 2017
 Anthony Marwood, violin
 Aleksandar Madzar, piano

Fri, May 5, 2017
 Lise de la Salle, piano
 solo piano recital

 

5 Imani Winds

Imani Winds
Friday, March 10, 2017, 8pm

SCHAVER MUSIC RECITAL HALL
480 W Hancock, Midtown Detroit
Old Main Building, Wayne State University

Since 1997, the Grammy-nominated Imani Winds has taken a unique path, carving out a distinct presence in the classical music world with its dynamic playing, culturally poignant programming and adventurous collaborations. With two member composers and a deep commitment to commissioning new work, the group is enriching the traditional wind quintet repertoire while meaningfully bridging European, American, African and Latin American traditions.

Imani Winds’ touring schedule has taken them across the globe. At home, they have been invited to play on premier chamber music series and university performing arts series from coast to coast, appearing in such major venues as Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center, the Kennedy Center, Disney Hall and the Kimmel Center. International tours include trips to China, Singapore, Brazil, Australia and throughout Europe.  Through commissions and performance the quintet regularly collaborates with artists ranging from Yo-Yo Ma, David Shifrin and Gilbert Kalish to Wayne Shorter, Paquito D’Rivera, the Fisk Jubilee Singers and bandoneonist Daniel Binelli.

Imani Winds’ program reflects its mission to expand the repertoire with diverse new music sources.  “Classically Improvised” is a lively mix of jazz-inspired, klezmer and Latin American music, with several of the pieces written or arranged by Imani members Valerie Coleman and Jeff Scott. 

"It’s inevitable that, after 18 years, the spiky edges of the exuberance and artistic ­risk-taking that have characterized Imani Winds’ performances are being smoothed into a cool professional veneer. A quintet of skilled and spirited musicians, they were at the University of Maryland’s Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center on Thursday, playing expertly..."

Washington Post

Program: "Classically Improvised"

Mongo Santamaria/Arr. Valerie Coleman: Afro Blue
Valerie Coleman: Suite: Portraits of Josephine
Astor Piazzolla/Arr. Jeff Scott: Contraba
Heitor Villa Lobos: Trio for Oboe, Clarinet and Bassoon
Julio Medaglia: Suite Popular Brasileira
Gene Kavadio/Arr. Adam Lesnick: Klezmer Dance


 

 

You may also be interested in:

Imani Winds

Sunday, March 12, 3pm

Program title: "Tradition and Innovation"

Click here for information.