Midtown Series
 Fridays at 8pm

 Signature Series
 Saturdays at 8pm
 
 Oakland Series
 Sundays at 3pm
 
---------------------------------------
 

Fri, Sept. 16, 2016
 Vijay Iyer, piano
 solo jazz concert

Sat, Sept. 17, 2016
 Brentano String Quartet
 Vijay Iyer, piano

Sat, Oct. 8, 2016
 Juilliard String Quartet
 at Seligman

Sun, Oct. 9, 2016
 Juilliard String Quartet
 Tian Tian, piano

Fri, Oct. 21, 2016
 Harlem Quartet
 Aldo López-Gavilán, piano

Sun, Nov. 13, 2016
 Heidi Grant Murphy, soprano
 Kevin Murphy, piano

Sat, Nov. 19, 2016
 Alexander Ghindin, piano
 solo piano recital

Sat, Dec. 3, 2016
 Cavani Quartet
 Celino Romero, guitar

Fri, Dec. 9, 2016
 Robert Siemers, piano
 solo piano recital

Fri, Jan. 20, 2017
 Pacifica Quartet
 

Sat, Jan. 21, 2017
 Pacifica Quartet
 Christopher O'Riley, piano

Sun, Jan. 22, 2017
 Christopher O'Riley, piano
 solo piano recital

Sat, Feb. 11, 2017
 Danish String Quartet
 

Fri, Mar. 10, 2017
 Imani Winds
 "Classically Improvised"
 

Sun, Mar. 12, 2017
 Imani Winds
 "Tradition and Innovation"

 
Sun, Apr. 2, 2017
 Celino Romero & Friends
 
 

Sat, Apr. 8, 2017
 Anthony Marwood, violin
 Aleksandar Madzar, piano

Fri, May 5, 2017
 Lise de la Salle, piano
 solo piano recital

 

CMSDetroit presents Imani Winds

 

Imani Winds

Since 1997, the Grammy-nominated Imani Winds has taken a unique path, carving out a distinct presence in the classical music world with its dynamic playing, culturally poignant programming and adventurous collaborations. With two member composers and a deep commitment to commissioning new work, the group is enriching the traditional wind quintet repertoire while meaningfully bridging European, American, African and Latin American traditions.


Friday, March 10, 8pm

Schaver Music Recital Hall, Wayne State
480 W Hancock Street, Detroit


Sunday, March 12, 3pm

Varner Recital Hall, Oakland University
2200 N Squirrel Road, Rochester

Imani Winds’ Midtown program “Classically Improvised” is a lively mix of jazz-inspired, klezmer and Latin American music, with several of the pieces written or arranged by Imani members Valerie Coleman and Jeff Scott. Performance is followed by discussion and dessert reception. Imani Winds’ Oakland program "Tradition and Innovation" mixes works written or arranged for winds by classical composers with newer works by jazz clarinetist/saxophonist and composer Paquito D’Rivera, and Palestinian-American composer, violinist and oud virtuoso Simon Shaheen.