Midtown Series
 Fridays at 8pm

 Signature Series
 Saturdays at 8pm
 Oakland Series
 Sundays at 3pm

Fri, Sept. 16, 2016
 Vijay Iyer, piano
 solo jazz concert

Sat, Sept. 17, 2016
 Brentano String Quartet
 Vijay Iyer, piano

Sat, Oct. 8, 2016
 Juilliard String Quartet
 at Seligman

Sun, Oct. 9, 2016
 Juilliard String Quartet
 Tian Tian, piano

Fri, Oct. 21, 2016
 Harlem Quartet
 Aldo López-Gavilán, piano

Sun, Nov. 13, 2016
 Heidi Grant Murphy, soprano
 Kevin Murphy, piano

Sat, Nov. 19, 2016
 Alexander Ghindin, piano
 solo piano recital

Sat, Dec. 3, 2016
 Cavani Quartet
 Celino Romero, guitar

Fri, Dec. 9, 2016
 Robert Siemers, piano
 solo piano recital

Fri, Jan. 20, 2017
 Pacifica Quartet

Sat, Jan. 21, 2017
 Pacifica Quartet
 Christopher O'Riley, piano

Sun, Jan. 22, 2017
 Christopher O'Riley, piano
 solo piano recital

Sat, Feb. 11, 2017
 Danish String Quartet

Fri, Mar. 10, 2017
 Imani Winds
 "Classically Improvised"

Sun, Mar. 12, 2017
 Imani Winds
 "Tradition and Innovation"

Sun, Apr. 2, 2017
 Celino Romero & Friends

Sat, Apr. 8, 2017
 Anthony Marwood, violin
 Aleksandar Madzar, piano

Fri, May 5, 2017
 Lise de la Salle, piano
 solo piano recital


Aeolus Quartet

Aeolus Quartet

Thursday, May 25, 2017, 7pm

The Community House
380 South Bates, Birmingham

Please note that this event is not part of any regular Chamber Music Society of Detroit Series and is not eligible for subscriber exchanges. 

Praised by the Baltimore Sun for combining “smoothly meshed technique with a sense of spontaneity and discovery,” the Aeolus Quartet is committed to presenting time-seasoned masterworks and new cutting-edge works to widely diverse audiences with equal freshness, dedication, and fervor. Violinists Nicholas Tavani and Rachel Shapiro, violist Gregory Luce, and cellist Alan Richardson formed the Aeolus Quartet in 2008 at the Cleveland Institute of Music. Since its inception, the all-American quartet has been awarded prizes at nearly every major competition in the United States and performed across the globe with showings “worthy of a major-league quartet” (Scott Cantrell, Dallas Morning News). 

The Quartet brings a program of strong staples of the string quartet repertoire beginning with Schubert's cherished "Quartettsatz,"a masterful movement of a larger work the composer never completed. Barber's Adagio for Strings, although often played alone, sits as the middle movement of his Op. 11. Here the Aeolus plays the complete work, Barber's only composition for string quartet. To finish, the Quartet plays Schumann's String Quartet Op.41, No. 3, his final quartet, and the composer's favorite. 

"A rich and warm tone combined with precise ensemble playing (that managed also to come across as fluid and natural), and an impressive musical intelligence guided every technical and dramatic turn.”

Cleveland Plain Dealer

"…I was most sad to see the American Aeolus Quartet depart.”

Strad Magazine


Schubert: String Quartet No. 12, D.703, "Quartettsatz"
Barber: String Quartet in B minor, Op. 11
Schumann: String Quartet in A major, Op. 41, No. 3

Post-Concert Reception

Cash bar before and after, complimentary desserts to follow.


This program is brought to you with support from Chemical Bank.

Watch & Listen